Physical Fitness Test (PFT)

  • What is the Physical Fitness Test (PFT)?

    The Physical Fitness Test (PFT) is a comprehensive battery of health-related physical fitness tests for students in California. The test has five parts that show a level of fitness that offers a degree of defense against diseases that are caused by inactivity. The test results can be used by students, teachers, and parents. The five fitness areas of the PFT are Aerobic Capacity, Abdominal Strength and Endurance, Upper Body Strength and Endurance, Trunk Extensor Strength and Flexibility, and Flexibility. 

    Why is the Physical Fitness Test given?

    The results are one piece of information students and their families can use, along with other information, to monitor overall fitness. The results are also useful for schools to monitor their physical education programs.

    Who takes the Physical Fitness Test?

    The PFT is given to all students enrolled in a California public school in grades five, seven, and grade nine. Students with disabilities should be given as much of the test as each student’s physical condition permits. The individualized education program (IEP) or Section 504 plan team is responsible for deciding how students with disabilities will participate in the PFT.

    How is the Physical Fitness Test given?

    As a physical fitness test, the PFT requires every student in grades five, seven, and grade nine to perform a series of physical tasks. These tasks may be administered at any time during the test administration window, and they can be administered together or at different times during the administration window.

    For more general information regarding the physical fitness test, visit the CDE PFT webpage. If you have specific questions regarding your student's PFT, contact your student's P.E. teacher. 

PFT Resources

  • Fitnessgram
  • PFT FAQs
  • PFT Parent Guide